Ideas I’d Love To See In YA (Part 1)

Posted: June 18, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

For once, it is not a book review or meme, but an actual, well…blog topic.

Everybody knows about young adult fiction. Written for teens like us, right? But you also know about themes in YA as well. Vampires, werewolves, surviving school, first love, etc. Almost everything you see now has at least one of those themes, if not more! I, for once, would like to see more than just that. I’ll break up the posts into different headings, so it’s just not a big ‘ol paragraph, hmm?

LOVE: 

Love is probably one of my favorite themes in YA. Every author writes love in their own different way. Forbidden love is so common, I think. I love him and he loves me, but he’s a (add supernatural or powerful stature here) and I’m just (human/normal person, etc). That could be rounded out a bit. I’d love to see more family love relationships, such as brother-sister, or sister and step-brother. They deserve our love as much as every thing else does! I’d also like to see some stories where the main character is already in a relationship. In most stories, if a character starts out in a relationship, it’ll probably end before the book ends. I’d like to see two characters actually make it an entire book, or maybe even SERIES!

FORMAT: 

Of course, there’s the good ‘ol Chapter 1, Chapter 2, Chapter 3, etc., but I’d be nice if there would be other kind of format maybe? Anything but verse stories. I hate those with a passion. If I review any on this site, you better believe that they are utterly amazing! More alternating stories would be nice as well. Or maybe, have an alternating story chapter that focuses on somebody that’s not a main character, to get a better feel of another person’s feelings?

That’s all for part 1, stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

