Ideas I’d Love To See In YA (Part 2)

Posted: June 21, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

I’m back with part 2 of my discussion of what I’d love to see in YA. Last time, I talked about love aspects and different formats. Today, I’ll talk some more! Isn’t that great? 🙂

SEQUELS/TRILOGIES/SAGAS 

Well, we all know about Twilight, Harry Potter, Alyson Noel’s Immortals series, Maximum Ride, etc. etc.; we could go on all day! I understand the necessity of SOME series and such, but wouldn’t a series or trilogy be just as nice? Series’ like Lisa McMann’s Wake, Susan Beth Pfeffer’s Last Survivors, Lauren Oliver’s Delirium, did and will end the story well. I felt as if seven books for Harry Potter really wasn’t needed. Even though I don’t like Twilight, I also feel that was rounded nicely as well, and that Breaking Dawn was a BUTT to read.

COVERS 

You know the saying, you’re not supposed to judge a book by it’s cover? Unfortunately, I do judge. Truth is, if the cover doesn’t grab me, I feel the story won’t as well. However, there are some circumstances that the story is way better than the cover! Also, there’s been a…trend in covers lately. Take a look of Evermore by Alyson Noel and North of Beautiful by Justina Chen Headley:

Um…hello twins! If you remove the flower from Evermore, do they not look the same? The actual reason is because of stock images.  They are bought from stock agencies, and, well, used, making brand new books, like twins to older ones. It’s not just faces, however, This Lullaby by Sarah Dessen and Bewitching Love Potions & Charms by Raven Tempest has a person holding paper hearts and Leap of Faith by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley and Cracked Up to Be by Courtney Summers has a girl laying down on a bench and about religious themes!

Note: I did get this idea from this Goodreads Listopia.

COLLABORATIONS

Alright. James Patterson is king of this topic. He’s collaborated with Ned Rust, Adam Sadler, Michael Ledwidge, Gabrielle Charbonnet, and that’s just young adult! John Green is a good person for this section as well, having collaborated with David Levithan,  Maureen Johnson, and Lauren Myracle. Then, you have those huge books with hundreds of people collaborating such as Kiss Me Deadly and Zombies vs. Unicorns. Since Let It Snow, this type of YA format has been dwindling, but suddenly boomed back since the release of Zombies vs. Unicorns. However, most of this type only comes from seasoned authors, or not at all. Wouldn’t a debut novel featuring a new author, then somebody like Meg Cabot, or Lauren Oliver, or maybe even both!

And that’s it for part 2! Next time, we’ll talk about books being turned into movies, different marketing tactics, and more!

Comments
  1. I love collaborations! I love the extreme differences in voice and style from one chapter or section to the next and I love getting a bunch of different minds together for one project. Great post!

Leave a Reply

