I Am Number Four by Pittacus Lore

Posted: June 30, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

 Received: Library

# of Pages: 440

Series: Yes; #1

First Line: “The door starts shaking.”

Publisher: HarperCollins

I Am Number Four was amazing. I’m actually not a huge fan of action and adventure, but the synopsis really grabbed me in. I decided to give it a shot I’m glad that I did. I was pleasantly surprised by how great the book came out.

There are nine alien creatures on Earth who escaped from an planet called Lorien.  A race called the Mogadorians who destroyed most of the race. The nine creatures, young kids, have powers called Legacies, which are supposed to help save and get back their race. The book begins with Number Three getting killed somewhere overseas. Four (our main character) knows that Three died because his ankle glows. Henri, his Cepan, immediately packs up and drives to a town named Paradise, Ohio. Four is tried of running, but tries to make the best of the town.

On day one, Four already makes enemies with a boy named Mark, friends with a nerdy looking guy named Sam, and begins to develop feelings for a beautiful girl named Sarah. He also begins to develop his own legacies, starting with glowing hands, resistance to fire, then telekinesis. One day, Sam mentions something about the Mogadorians in a brochure he read named “They Walk Among Us”. Four tells Henri and he does some research about the paper, but gets nothing but where it is printed. Four waits for Henri to come back, but doesn’t. Along with Sam, they drive to Aliens, Ohio to try and save him.

I only detailed one adventure from this book, but there are plenty more than that. Four is developing his Legacies, while also trying to juggle normal teenagehood.  This is another lengthy read. In my opinion, if you’re not like me, the last few chapters should leave you a bit teary eyed, if not crying a bit. Laughs, romance, and as always, a moral. Unfortunetly, we’re waiting on a sequel, but it’s coming about in August! You know, when you begin a new series right before the next one is slated to come out, well, it’s not so long a wait. Too bad we can’t do that for all books!

Plot: 5/5

Relationship: 4/5

Cover: 3/5

Overall: 5/5

I Am Number Four is apart of the Books to Movie Challenge, hosted by Two Bibliomaniacs! As soon as I watch the movie, I’ll make a movie review!

Until next time!

Comments
  1. […] I Am Number Four by Pittacus Lore (Just needed it for show. The second book is coming out very soon! See my I Am Number Four review here.) […]

Leave a Reply

